Sri Lanka Stilt Fisherman

When I first saw these famous Sri Lankan Stilt Fisherman from Steve McCurry’s travel images. I wanted to visit and find out how they  fish from such waters with the mere tiny stilts,

Much has changed since Steve McCurry taken that iconic image. These days fishing is difficult as fish stock has almost diminished, many fishermen would venture out in larger boats and go fishing for days.

Most of the stilt fishermen are pretty old and have largely retired. Posing mainly for the tourists who have invaded and changed the whole coast line into spas and pricey resorts. I am quite surprised how shallow these stilts were.

It was the monsoon season, not really idea to do much fishing, most of the time it rained for the whole morning, a daily affair. I stopped photographing places after that.  I spent a week here, mainly to relax and meet up with various people around the area. The Sri Lankans are incredibly friendly and very inviting. As always when you spend more time around the same area, folks would invite you into their homes for great home cooked meals and tell you their stories. This was how I passed my time, visiting homes.

It has always my favorite part of the journey, meeting people, having them share a part of their lives with me, however short it is. That tiny moments in life.

 

 

One response to “Sri Lanka Stilt Fisherman

  1. Thank you for being honest about this issue. I find many people are currently bragging about finding true fishermen. But in reality there are no much left.

Leave a comment